search
performance calendar
Wednesday, June 7, 2017

Fred P. Hall Amphitheater,
Palatine IL
8:00pm

Wednesday, June 28, 2017

Fred P. Hall Amphitheater,
Palatine IL
8:00pm

Monday, July 3, 2017

Wallace Bowl at Gillson Park,
Wilmette IL
7:30pm

Tuesday, July 4, 2017

Lagoon at Dawes Park,
Evanston IL
7:30pm

Sunday, July 23, 2017

Main Beach Bandshell,
Crystal Lake IL
12:30pm

Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Fred P. Hall Amphitheater,
Palatine IL
8:00pm

Sunday, November 12, 2017

Cutting Hall,
Palatine IL
3:30pm

Friday, December 1, 2017

Cutting Hall,
Palatine IL
7:00pm

Sunday, March 11, 2018

Altergott Auditorium at Palatine High School,
Palatine IL
3:30pm

Sunday, April 29, 2018

Cutting Hall,
Palatine IL
3:30pm

program notes > B > Black Dog

Search the program notes for entries containing:

Black Dog

Scott McAllister

 

Black Dog is a rhapsody for solo clarinet. It is inspired by classic hard rock music, particularly the British heavy-metal rock group Led Zeppelin’s “Black Dog.” The clarinet takes the role of the lead singer in a hard rock band with its extreme range and emotions juxtaposed with pyrotechnic solos in true “Hendrix” fashion. The rhapsody begins with a long solo cadenza which introduces most of the material in the work. The middle section is a very slow, upward, “Stairway to Heaven” gesture. The last section concludes with a “head-banging” ostinato pattern that leads to the final fiery cadenza.

Scott McAllister (b.1969) is an American composer and clarinetist. Born in Vero Beach, FL, he received a PhD from Rice University and teaches at Baylor University in Waco, TX. . He is particularly noted for his pieces featuring clarinet, including “Black Dog,” “X Concerto” and “Freebirds.”

Last updated on March 24, 2017 by Palatine Concert Band