search
performance calendar
Wednesday, June 7, 2017

Fred P. Hall Amphitheater,
Palatine IL
8:00pm

Wednesday, June 28, 2017

Fred P. Hall Amphitheater,
Palatine IL
8:00pm

Monday, July 3, 2017

Wallace Bowl at Gillson Park,
Wilmette IL
7:30pm

Tuesday, July 4, 2017

Lagoon at Dawes Park,
Evanston IL
7:30pm

Sunday, July 23, 2017

Main Beach Bandshell,
Crystal Lake IL
12:30pm

Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Fred P. Hall Amphitheater,
Palatine IL
8:00pm

Sunday, November 12, 2017

Cutting Hall,
Palatine IL
3:30pm

Friday, December 1, 2017

Cutting Hall,
Palatine IL
7:00pm

Sunday, March 11, 2018

Altergott Auditorium at Palatine High School,
Palatine IL
3:30pm

Sunday, April 29, 2018

Cutting Hall,
Palatine IL
3:30pm

program notes > F > Finale, Symphony No. 3 in C (Organ Symphony)

Search the program notes for entries containing:

Finale, Symphony No. 3 in C (Organ Symphony)

Camille Saint-Saens/arr. Earl Slocum

 

Camille Saint-Saens' Symphony No. 3 in C Major, generally referred to as the "Organ Symphony", was his last major effort in the symphonic form. It was composed for the London Philharmonic Orchestra and was dedicated to Franz Liszt. It was first performed in the British capital under the direction of Saint-Saens on May 19, 1886. The symphony was modern for its day.

The Finale begins with a sustained C Major chord in the organ, followed by a theme that was presented in the first movement of the symphony. The theme is then presented by the woodwinds and then by the full strength of the band and organ. An Allegro section follows, leading to a very tranquil and pastoral episode. A brilliant coda ends the work with the full band together in thickly rich textures. This powerful work concludes as it began, on a C Major chord played by the organ and full band.

Last updated on July 7, 2013 by Palatine Concert Band