search
performance calendar
Wednesday, June 7, 2017

Fred P. Hall Amphitheater,
Palatine IL
8:00pm

Wednesday, June 28, 2017

Fred P. Hall Amphitheater,
Palatine IL
8:00pm

Monday, July 3, 2017

Wallace Bowl at Gillson Park,
Wilmette IL
7:30pm

Tuesday, July 4, 2017

Lagoon at Dawes Park,
Evanston IL
7:30pm

Sunday, July 23, 2017

Main Beach Bandshell,
Crystal Lake IL
12:30pm

Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Fred P. Hall Amphitheater,
Palatine IL
8:00pm

Sunday, November 12, 2017

Cutting Hall,
Palatine IL
3:30pm

Friday, December 1, 2017

Cutting Hall,
Palatine IL
7:00pm

Sunday, March 11, 2018

Altergott Auditorium at Palatine High School,
Palatine IL
3:30pm

Sunday, April 29, 2018

Cutting Hall,
Palatine IL
3:30pm

program notes > L > Little Fugue

Search the program notes for entries containing:

Little Fugue

Johann Sebastian Bach/adapted by Calvin Custer

 

Little Fugue was written in G minor for organ, an instrument on which Bach was a virtuoso. (In a fugue, a short melody or phrase is introduced by one part and successively taken up by others and developed through interweaving.) Early editors of Bach's work included “little” in the title to distinguish this piece from the later “Great Fantasia and Fugue in G minor” which is longer. It may also refer to the fact that “Little Fugue” is uncharacteristically not coupled with a preceding prelude.

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750) is the most famous of a large German family of performers and composers who lived during the late Baroque period. He enriched established German styles through skill in counterpoint, harmonic and motivic organization, and the adaptation of rhythms, forms, and textures from abroad, particularly from Italy and France. His music is revered for its technical command, artistic beauty, and intellectual depth.

Last updated on March 25, 2016 by Palatine Concert Band