search
performance calendar
Wednesday, June 7, 2017

Fred P. Hall Amphitheater,
Palatine IL
8:00pm

Wednesday, June 28, 2017

Fred P. Hall Amphitheater,
Palatine IL
8:00pm

Monday, July 3, 2017

Wallace Bowl at Gillson Park,
Wilmette IL
7:30pm

Tuesday, July 4, 2017

Lagoon at Dawes Park,
Evanston IL
7:30pm

Sunday, July 23, 2017

Main Beach Bandshell,
Crystal Lake IL
12:30pm

Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Fred P. Hall Amphitheater,
Palatine IL
8:00pm

Sunday, November 12, 2017

Cutting Hall,
Palatine IL
3:30pm

Friday, December 1, 2017

Cutting Hall,
Palatine IL
7:00pm

Sunday, March 11, 2018

Altergott Auditorium at Palatine High School,
Palatine IL
3:30pm

Sunday, April 29, 2018

Cutting Hall,
Palatine IL
3:30pm

program notes > M > March and Procession of Bacchus

Search the program notes for entries containing:

March and Procession of Bacchus

Leo Delibes/arr. Eric Osterling

 

March and Procession of Bacchus is taken from Act II of the ballet Sylvia, ou la nymphe de Diane. Brass flourishes and a pompous atmosphere characterize the first section where in the ballet the satyrs (mythological deities with long pointed ears and short horns) enter with their javelins. Next the maidens enter, bringing a goat for sacrifice. The revelry begins with the quickening of the tempo, after which a slow-moving melody suggests the arrival of a wine-drinking god followed by a continuation of the pranks of the frenzied company.

Léo Delibes (1836-1891) was a French composer of ballets, operas, and other works for the stage. 

Last updated on July 6, 2013 by Palatine Concert Band