search
performance calendar
Wednesday, June 7, 2017

Fred P. Hall Amphitheater,
Palatine IL
8:00pm

Wednesday, June 28, 2017

Fred P. Hall Amphitheater,
Palatine IL
8:00pm

Monday, July 3, 2017

Wallace Bowl at Gillson Park,
Wilmette IL
7:30pm

Tuesday, July 4, 2017

Lagoon at Dawes Park,
Evanston IL
7:30pm

Sunday, July 23, 2017

Main Beach Bandshell,
Crystal Lake IL
12:30pm

Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Fred P. Hall Amphitheater,
Palatine IL
8:00pm

Sunday, November 12, 2017

Cutting Hall,
Palatine IL
3:30pm

Friday, December 1, 2017

Cutting Hall,
Palatine IL
7:00pm

Sunday, March 11, 2018

Altergott Auditorium at Palatine High School,
Palatine IL
3:30pm

Sunday, April 29, 2018

Cutting Hall,
Palatine IL
3:30pm

program notes > O > Once in Royal David's City

Search the program notes for entries containing:

Once in Royal David’s City

Henry Gauntlett/arr. Philip Sparke

 

Once in Royal David’s City This carol is believed to have first been published in the early nineteenth century. The words written by Mrs. C.F. Alexander (1818–1895), wife of the Bishop of Derry, paint a picture of the events of the nativity. Mrs. Alexander wrote many poems for children, chiefly on religious subjects. The music was written by Henry John Gauntlett (1805–1876), an English organist and songwriter. Gauntlett became the organist in Buckinghamshire where his father was then curate, at the age of nine. He pursued a career in law until he was almost forty years old, when he abandoned the profession and devoted himself to music.

Last updated on December 28, 2016 by Palatine Concert Band