About Palatine Concert Band...

The Palatine Concert Band's history can be traced back to the 1870s. After being inactive during the depression years and WWII, the band was reorganized in 1955 with 18 members. With the purpose of improving the musical abilities of its members and the musical appreciation of its audience, the band incorporated as a Not for Profit Corporation in 1964. Today, the Palatine Concert Band is a vibrant ensemble of approximately 80 musicians.

Membership is open to qualified adult musicians by audition, and subject to openings in the particular section. The band rehearses every Tuesday from 7:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. at the Palatine Community Center, 250 East Wood Street, Palatine, Illinois.

The band is incorporated in the state of Illinois as a Not For Profit Corporation. Financial support comes from membership dues, concert ticket sales, donations and summer concerts booked by the band. The band also receives substantial in-kind support from the Palatine Park District. Palatine Concert Band performs four (4) formal indoor concerts from fall to spring in Palatine’s indoor performance venue, Cutting Hall Performing Arts Center, and three (3) summer concerts at the Fred P. Hall Amphitheatre as part of Palatine’s Sounds of Summer music series.

Year to year additional concerts are performed as contracted by the band. In recent years, these performances have included Fourth of July Fireworks Celebrations in Evanston and Wilmette, and the Ceremony of Flags in Northbrook, IL.

The band's expenses include music library and instrumental equipment purchases, guest soloists and administrative costs for insurance, tickets and the music director. The ongoing success of this band is due to the involvement of so many members not only by their individual efforts in rehearsals and performances, but in the organization's administration. This vital and energetic group enjoys working together to produce quality concert band music.


Board of Directors

Carin Zachar — president
Micheala Tuminello — vice president
Alice Merrill — secretary
Susan Shearin — treasurer
Amy Burke — personnel
John Baumgart
Rick LoPresto
Shannon Radley
Ryan Stites
Rick Lowe — conductor


Ernest Gross — assistant conductor
Rick LoPresto — assistant conductor
Sam Agnello — Facebook admin.
John Baumgart — concert flyer design
Jason Girard — Instagram admin.
Alysse Hunter — historian
Wayne Karge — rehearsal set-up
Jim Meek — website and IT admin.
Joseph Shearin — concert program design
Dan Sorce — stage manager, librarian
Ryan Stites — concert recording
Micheala Tuminello — grants coordinator, accessibility coordinator